The Malaysian Institute of Interior Designers (MIID) or Pertubuhan Perekabentuk Dalaman Malaysia (PPDM) is the national institute representing the interior design profession in Malaysia. It is an amalgamation of two previous bodies namely, Interior Designers Institute of Malaysia (Institut Perekabentuk Dalaman Malaysia or IPDM) and the Malaysian Society of Interior Designers (MSID).

The vision of the institute is to develop a sophisticated society of Malaysians who are conversant and appreciative of the creative world of interior design. To this end, the institute conducts various programmes throughout the year to educate, promote and foster better ties between the public and professional members alike. These include:

  1. A lecture series where leading practitioners are invited to share their ideas, experience and visions for the future.

  2. Exhibitions highlighting members’ work and other subjects of current interest.

  3. Workshops, seminars and conferences to provide a platform for discourse and discussion.

  4. An official design magazine to showcase members’ work plus the design world at large.

  5. Social media i.e. a website for MIID and a Facebook page.

  6. Developing since 1989, an education policy with academic programmes geared towards training interior designers for design excellence.

  7. Providing an advisory role between the Malaysian interior design profession and statutory/professional bodies e.g. Board of Architects Malaysia (Lembaga Akitek Malaysia), Fire Department (Jabatan Bomba), etc. via the Architects Act 1967 of the Laws of Malaysia (Act 117).

  8. Actively engaging with international and regional design bodies e.g. International Federation of Interior Architects/Designers (IFI), International Design Alliance (IDA), Asia Pacific Space Designers Alliance (APSDA), etc. to promote and develop the interior design profession.

MIID Council 2016-2018

Ar. Chris Yap Seng Chye


Mohamad Faisal Ghazali

Deputy President

Ooi Boon Seong

Vice President

Anura Hashim

Honorary Secretary

Leong Ta Wah

Honorary Treasurer

Ronnie Choong Swee Beng

Immediate Past President

Sharifah Suzana Simmonds

Council Member

Nur Diana Mohamed Rosli

Council Member

Assoc. Prof. Jazman Shah Amir

Council Member

Idzam Bin Othman

Council Member

Sharifah Balkis Syed Hassan

Council Member

Norshafina Ibrahim

Council Member

Lai Siew Hong

Council Member

Ar. Hj. Abdul Halim Suhor

Council Member

Annie Jaid Parker

Council Member

Operational Function & Activities Chart